Vegetation types

Although South African vegetation is very complex, it can be divided into several vegetation types based on the biome concept. The Greater Cape Floristic Region includes predominantly two iconic biomes — Fynbos and Succulent Karoo. Three other biomes are also represented in the GCFR — Desert, Forests and Albany Thicket. There are several other biomes in South Africa outside the GCFR — Nama-Karoo, Grassland, Savanna and Indian Ocean Coastal Belt (according to Mucina & Rutherford 2006).

The database is still under heavy development, several important features are not implemented yet and user interface is not finished. If having some feature request or any other comments, contact developer.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer